Connect with us


A look at the Manitoba Moose roster to start the 2019-20 season

It will be a roster of 30 guys to start.

Photo Credit: Jonathan Kozub (Manitoba Moose)

Unlike the NHL the AHL doesn’t have a roster limit so when the Moose announced their 2019-20 roster today it has 30 players listed.

Goalies (2):  Mikhail Berdin & Adam Carlson

Defencemen (11): Johnathan Kovacevic, Cameron Schilling, Logan Stanley, Sami Niku, Leon Gawanke, Jimmy Oligny, Jacob Cederholm, Nelson Nogier, Peter Stoykewych, Luke Green and Charles-David Beaudoin.

Forwards (17): Emile Porier, Kristian Vesalainen, Seth Griffith, Joona Luoto, Kamerin Nault, Kristian Reichel, Michael Spacek, JC Lipon, CJ Suess, Jansen Harkins, Logan Shaw, Cole Maier, Skyler McKenzie, Andrei Chibisov, Hunter Fejes, Ryan White and Derek Hulak.

Lots of Jets prospects to watch including:

Johnathan Kovacevic
Logan Stanley
Sami Niku
Leon Gawanke
Luke Green
Kristian Vesalainen
Michael Spacek
CJ Suess
Jansen Harkins
Skyler McKenzie

As well as these two interesting imports:

Joona Luoto
Andrei Chibisov

Five of the forwards signed PTOs including:

Hunter Fejes
Derek Hulak
Kamerin Nault
Emile Poirier
Ryan White

Hulak is the only one who hasn’t played for the Moose before.  Nault is a Winnipegger who played one game for the Moose last season (in which he scored his first AHL goal and picked up his first AHL assist as well).  White is a longtime NHL veteran (and another Manitoban) who played a big role for the Moose last season both on and off the ice.  Poirier was limited to 24 games as he broke his leg last season.  And Fejes is a product of Alaska who played 42 games for the Moose last season.

However they won’t be able to ice more than a 20 men for tonight’s contest against the Rampage in San Antonio to kick off the 2019-20 season. Puck drop is at 7 pm.