Connect with us

Winnipeg Jets

NHL, NHLPA agree to temporary taxi squads for COVID-19

Moose might be a few players lighter soon.

The Moose may be without some of their key players with news that the NHL and NHLPA have agreed to have taxi squads until the 2022 NHL All-Star Game.

Here is what the NHL put out:

The NHL and the NHLPA have agreed to the formation of a “Taxi Squad” in order to provide Clubs with readily-available Players who can be recalled to the NHL in order to minimize the chances that Clubs have to play shorthanded or games have to be postponed due to pandemic-related issues. Specifically:

Clubs will be permitted to form Taxi Squads on a temporary basis beginning on Dec. 26, 2021 (subject to Holiday Roster Freeze restrictions), and lasting through the date of their final game prior to the scheduled dates for the 2022 All-Star Break. After each Club’s final game before the All-Star Break, its Taxi Squad will dissolve. Clubs may then recall or Reassign the Players that were assigned to the Taxi Squad.

Clubs will be permitted to assign a maximum of six (6) Players to their Taxi Squad. All such assignments will be subject to Waiver requirements as applicable. No individual Player may spend more than twenty (20) cumulative days on the Taxi Squad during the temporary formation period.

Players on Loan to the Taxi Squad will be permitted to travel and practice with the NHL Club, however, such Players can only play in an NHL Game if recalled and placed on the NHL Club’s Active Roster before such NHL Game (and no later than the appropriate 5:00 p.m. deadline). Although not all Players on Loan to the Taxi Squad are required to travel to all away games, it is recommended that a sufficient number of Taxi Squad Players travel with the Club to ensure an adequate number of Players are available for Recalls as may be necessary.

You can read more here.

Here are the players with Manitoba that have a contract with the Jets:

F: Mikey Eyssimont, Jeff Malott, Austin Poganski, Luke Johnson (inj) and Cole Perfetti (Team Canada)

D: Declan Chisholm, Leon Gawanke, Ville Heinola, Johnny Kovacevic, Simon Lundmark, Nelson Nogier and Dylan Samberg.

G:  Mikhail Berdin & Arvid Holm