Connect with us


Manitoba Moose end of 2021-22 season roundtable discussion

We conclude the season with a look back at how 2022 campaign went for the AHL squad out of Winnipeg.

After the season was cancelled in 2019-20 and then no playoffs were held for the Canadian Division in 2020-21 the 2021-22 campaign would be a return to normal for the Manitoba Moose including the promise of playoffs. This season teams had the option to play 72 or 76 games with the Moose choosing the former.

Impressively this group, which featured a large number of returning players from last season, focused on being inclusive right from training camp and it was evident throughout the season. From the large number of players who made their NHL debuts to the fact that all their teammates supported their success rather than be jealous that it wasn’t them being called up to play for the Jets. In total seven guys made their NHL debuts including: Johnny Kovacevic (2017 3rd), Kristian Reichel, Mikey Eyssimont, Jeff Malott, Dylan Samberg (2017 2nd), Declan Chisholm (2018 5th) and Cole Perfetti (2020 1st). In addition to these seven a handful of others played games for Winnipeg including Ville Heinola (2019 1st), David Gustafsson (2018 2nd), Kristian Vesalainen (2017 1st), CJ Suess (2014 5th), Austin Poganski and Morgan Barron.

As a group they put up the second most wins in Moose 2.0 franchise history (41) but as I indicated did it in 72 games whereas the 2017-18 team had 42 wins in 76 games.

It was fitting that their first round opponent would be the Milwaukee Admirals, the team they faced 12 times during the regular season. While they ultimately lost in five games it was a good growth experience for the group with relatively little pro playoff experience. A guy like Morgan Barron, who was acquired as part of the Andrew Copp trade scored goals in four straight games.

Join us for a two hour chat as we wrap up another unique season with our end of season roundtable.

Head coach Mark Morrison at 9:52.
Mikey Eyssimont at 26:26.
Declan Chisholm at 46:16.
Cole Maier at 1:08:10.
GM Craig Heisinger at 1:26:39.